Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Travel for work 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

paultaylor04

Technical User
Oct 16, 2003
US
I'm interviewing for a position which requires 3-4 days of travel each week. The travel is going to be day trips and a combination of air & road travel.

I've never travelled for work before excepting going for a full week to another city for training every few months. I'm not particular averse to travel but at the same time I've never done it before. I'm basically looking for opinions from people been there and any other advice I can get like what should I look for, should I be setting certain terms with the employer, etc

Thank you for your time ;)

I would love to travel!

But my husband and two kids would probably not enjoy it quite as much! What's your personal situation and how do the people (if any) involved feel about it?

Leslie

Anything worth doing is a lot more difficult than it's worth - Unknown Induhvidual

Essential reading for anyone working with databases: The Fundamentals of Relational Database Design

i don't have a bad situation at all. I'm a bachelor and can do anything I want. But my question was more toward people who've been in similar situations before or how they took to the task of travelling, whether they hated it more than they thought they would or they didn't find it as bad as some people make it out to be

thanks!

With that much travel, and different modes, I would be absolutely sure that its *their* expenses up front and not yours. Corporate credit card, etc.

whether they hated it more than they thought they would or they didn't find it as bad as some people make it out to be