Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Total newbie question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 7, 2007
US
I have a new customer that is running the following equipment for VOIP at their small office:
Charter internet w/ Surfboard modem SB6121
Router: Cisco ASA 5505
Phone service: 8x8
Phone: Single Polycom 550

I need to figure out whether I will be able to support this aspect of their setup, The phone service is my only area of question. Can someone point me to a general "how this setup works" on the internet. Like firewall ports and SIP. This may be over my head but I need to know ahead of time.

The other issue, not my fault and not a question, is that the previous IT people don't seem to want to give the user name/password for the cisco router. So right now, the whole thing is like a black box that I can peer into. How arrogant can some people be not to call back with the password info?

the other issue, not my fault and not a question, is that the previous IT people don't seem to want to give the user name/password for the cisco router. So right now, the whole thing is like a black box that I can peer into. How arrogant can some people be not to call back with the password info?

Couple of possible reasons for this -
1) Have they been paid fully? They may be reluctant to release the password information, if they have outstanding invoices
2) The passwords may well be common to their other customers (bad practice I'd admit)...

As for SIP, its data packets from yor point of view... Learn how to check and validate where any faults lie - so NAT and port blocking are your enemies. If you are sure that your set up is good - go to the carrier. USe th eexperience to learn!