Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Total Newbie Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

zshuford

Technical User
Jun 20, 2006
US
OK, I've never set up a mail server before, so I have a Total Newbie Question that I'm sure someone can answer fast for me.

When I'm setting up my MX record with my DNS what exactly do I put in the fields?

I use Namecheap, and it has a field for Host Name, Mailserver Host Name, and MX Pref (which is default set to 1).

Now, if I go to the Server Management screen and go to Advancet Management, under there is my server where it says Foo (Exchange). Under that is a Servers folder, and under that is a server called FooServer.

Are these my Host Name and Mailserver Host Name?

For outside name resolution, configure external DNS-
My MX record is set up as follows:
mail.domain_name.net and points to the IP Address of my mail gateway (IIS Server running SMTP), really it's the external interface of my firewall. The domain name is a name I registered as my public domain, which is a different name than what is used as my Active Directory name.

For inside name resolution, if you are using exchange, you are not required to create an MX record.

To translate the above into soemthing a little more basic,
the MX record is the fully qualified domain name that you want your mail server to be reachable by. It is linked with whatever your public IP address is.

The name does not need to start with mail.blahblah.com. It can be anything like:

exchange.company.com
mail.company.com
bubba.company.com

On your side you need to be sure that whatever IP you registered with the MX record directs port 25 traffic to the Exchange server.

I hope you find this post helpful.