Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Too much abstraction? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dinger2121

Programmer
Sep 11, 2007
US
Hello,
I am trying to get my hands around true oop development, and am wondering if I am abstracting too much. I am a lone developer working on multiple projects. I currently have to do some work acquiring different dates given a particular date, ie, next saturday or sunday 2 weeks ago.
Since both of the examples above, and most other functions that I have to use, will take a date as input and then return a date value, should I create an interface and then make each function an implementation of that interface? or is that too much abstraction?
On top of that, should I create a date utility project so that I can isolate all of these date functions together, or is that overkill? would I be better off just putting what I need for a specific project directly in that project and just creating seperate classes for each?

Thanks for any thoughts.

carl
MCSD, MCTS:MOSS

carl, to answer the first part, yes you can have too much abstraction. One of the driving forces for abstraction is to encapsulate/isolate what changes.

Another force that will drive abstraction is complexity. If you have a small application with a few UI screens and some database calls, then abstracting Forms, Presenters, Services, Repositories and Data Access may be overkill. the abstractions could be as simple as Forms, Presenters, Data Access. For example controllers on my projects can look like this
Code:
class MyController
{
   private readonly ISession session;

public MyController(ISession session)
   {
       this.session = session;
   }

public void Index(...)
   {