Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Tire of supporting people, time to support myself

Status
Not open for further replies.

JCK2003

IS-IT--Management
Jan 29, 2003
US
Hi All:

coming in with my first post in this forum, some advise needed

I graduated from a computer engineering major in the BS, school was focused heavily on programming mainly on unix, I had a hell of time debugging and doing project in the school lab, didn't like it very much, got out of school with a PC technican job, which lasted 4 months, but it was a good start for me because it extended my ability as merely a computer end-user by gaining the hardware prospective of the field. doing support, troubleshoot, installation, I was studying for my MCSE (which I think is definitely overrated, but what can we do, Microsoft owns alot of plateform businss)

then I had a few jobs during the good years of IT, also including the one I have right now, is supporting people of various issues, software hardware, use CD-ROM drive as a cupholder type of things to more advance stuff I have no clue where to start, I am tried of being the supporting role, because people never leave you alone to do your own job that was written on the job description, I think the IT jobs I have so far basically are supporting, cleanup-after, take-the blame type of job instead of developing and managing type. I have been working for about 6 years now.