Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Timer with 100kHz frequency in Windows XP

Status
Not open for further replies.

C4C

Technical User
Jan 1, 2003
US
Hello,

I have been persuing this matter for two years without any positive results so I have decided to ask for help.

There is a popular CNC machine tool control software named 'Mach 3' and it operates in Windows XP. The application has a timer that generates a user selectable frequency ranging from 25kHz to 100kHz~+ with a maximum CPU cost of 12%. I suspect that the author is manipulating the 'System Timer' or another on board timer. It will operate with all mainboards and the only known limitation is use with laptop computers due to their ACPI. The frequency is used to generate a pulse train signal which is emitted from the PC parallel port so it can and has been verified.

I program in Visual Basic 6.0, but I have wrote some drivers and dlls in C/C++. I learned to program using the 'Monkey See Monkey Do' approach. Please do not construe that to mean that I always copy another authors code. I revise their code to suit my purpose, but on the rare occasions where their code is 'Just Right' then I'll paste it right in to my program. The endless amount of code on the internet facilitates that approach very well, however with the 'Timer' there's only one 'Monkey' that has accomplished the task and he has not published his code.

I desparately need the 100kHz timer in order for my application to work.

C4C