Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

timeout problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

moabiker31

Programmer
Nov 6, 2004
US
We have a VB2005 desktop app using web services. The app/web service returns data within 4 seconds. The timeout is set to 2 minutes. There are random times when any query will timeout, which makes the user wait the full 2 minutes. we know if the data hasn't been returned in 10 seconds, the user will be waiting for 2 minutes. this is a new app with small amounts of data so i'm not ready to change the timeout to a smaller value yet, unless that's the only solution. i'm new to web services. does anyone know why there are random timeouts? is it related to the web service or poor internet service? is there a way to cancel the command we know is going to timeout so we can run it again without waiting for 2 minutes? there's currently 1 full time user that is reporting the problem. the 2 part time users have NOT experienced this. any suggestions are appreciated. thanks.

I guess yo uneed to identify where the delay is.

Can you put some logging in, so that (assuming that the web server, the Client and the Database Server's times are relatively close) you can see where the delay is ocurring?

You mention internet service, so Im guessing thats where the lag is, in which case I guess its beyond your control.

Is there a common trend to when it happens (AV starting up, Backup ocurring, Lunch time and 300 users getting online to check the news / hotmail etc..)?

Is it possible to write the service request / response to run asynchronously, so that they can do something else whilst the call is executing?