Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

THE Budget Computer :) Help Needed! (long)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexK12

Technical User
Sep 25, 2002
US
I've been using the original iMac for 4 years now. Specs are 233 mhz G3/4 GB HD/64 MB RAM/OS 9.1/24x CD-ROM. Now tell me that's outdated. And I'm a gamer...really I am! I've been getting along these past 4 years playing perhaps the best PC game ever, StarCraft. However, with Warcraft III out, I soon found out what I had already known, my iMac just wasn't cutting it anymore. So the search began for a new computer. I found out early on my quest that building a PC was the way to go. Cheap, customizable, and cool. Like Queen, I'm just a poor boy, every dollar counts for me. So here I am, with a list of components that were cheap and to my liking (for the most part). I'll hopefully be ordering the parts within the next 10 days. Check it out.

Case : Evercase E4252W005A 10-bay Case Retail -Black-
$26
$15 Shipping

Power Supply : Heroichi Electronic corp. Power Supply 350watt HEC-350LDT-R
$44
$0 Shipping

Motherboard : EPoX EP-8K5A2+ w/RAID, LAN, USB 2.0 & AUDIO
$99.51
$8.51 Shipping

Processor : AMD Athlon XP 1600+ 1.4 GHz OEM -AGOIA Cores-
$52.99
$0 Shipping

Heatsink/Fan : Taisol CGK760092 Copper Insert
$15
$5 Shipping

Thermal Paste : ARCTIC SILVER III 3G
$6
$6 Shipping

Memory : Samsung IC Chipset 512MB DDR333 PC2700 OEM
$127
$0.50 Shipping

Kingston 512MB DDR333 PC2700 Retail
$127
$0.50 Shipping

Hard Drive : WD Western Digital "Special Edition" 80GB 7200 RPM EIDE Model #WD800JB
$108
$0 Shipping

Video Card : ATI Radeon 8500LE 64MB DDR
$89
$0 Shipping

CD Burner : Lite On 40x12x48 CDRW Model: LTR40125S Retail
$57
$0 Shipping