Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Text file into a textarea?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rxsid

Programmer
Jul 9, 2002
US
Hi all,

I'm a novice asp coder. I've got a web page that have a <textarea> that I need to populate with what is in a text file. For now, I just want to Read the text file into the textarea, but I just can't seem to get it to work. Here's what I've got:
Code:
Function getFile(fileThis)
    dim Filename

Filename = "someFile.txt"
    'format is data1|data2

Const ForReading = 1, ForWriting = 2, ForAppending = 3
    Const TristateUseDefault = -2, TristateTrue = -1, TristateFalse = 0

' Create a filesystem object
    Dim fso
    set fso = server.createObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

' Map the logical path to the physical system path
    Dim Filepath
    Filepath = Server.MapPath(Filename)

if fso.FileExists(Filepath) Then
	    ' Get a handle to the file
	    Dim file, Line
	    set file = fso.GetFile(Filepath)

' Open the file
	    Dim TextStream
	    Set TextStream = file.OpenAsTextStream(ForReading, TristateUseDefault)

' Read the file line by line
	    dim counter, UserID(), PW()
            counter = 1

Do While Not TextStream.AtEndOfStream
	        Line = TextStream.readline
	        arrayFile = split(Line,"|")
	        data1(counter) = arrayFile(0)
	        data2(counter) = arrayFile(1)
	        counter = counter + 1
	    Loop

Set TextStream = nothing

Else
        Response.Write("<font size=2 color=red>Users file not found on server</font><br>" & Filename)
    End If
End Function
and here is the html
Code:
	    <textarea name="somename" cols="30" rows="15">
	    <% Thisfile = getFile(fileThis) %>
	    </textarea>