Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

TEST SET, BUTT SET RECOMENDATIONS

Status
Not open for further replies.

aarenot

Vendor
Aug 30, 2003
US
I have been working for myself now for about 6 months, and it is time to consider aquiring some new equipment. I am going to be passing on my butt set to a new trainee worker, and get myself a new one. Yes, I am the boss, so I am going to take the new stuff, lol.

I am considering only butt sets that have speaker phone two way capability, and am thinking about getting one with a headset port for those noisy areas. There are so many capabilities now with the newwer butt sets that I thought I should check with the guys that have bought some with these new bells, and whistles. I have seen some that say they can generate tone, test DSL, and about everything else under the sun. Some of the features I have seen are CLID name and number display, tone generation, built in talk battery option, etc., etc. I do not test DSL but wonder if anyone has any advice on these new butt sets.

I do low voltage wiring voice & data, install phone systems Avaya TDM/IP, troubleshoot wiring, etc.

Tell me what you have, and what you like in the new features.

Stick with one-way capability - you already know how poor half duplex speakerphones sound, and having to hit the mute button everytime you just want ID a bunch of lines is a pain. Also, make sure that the speakerphone will STAY on, that you don't need to re-enable it every time you move your clips from one set of binding posts to another.

My old TS-22 needs repair, so I am using a Chesivale from a few years ago - since aquired by Tempo.