Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Tennis Player Availability 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

netrusher

Technical User
Feb 13, 2005
US
I am a tennis coach at a local college. What I am trying to do using access is:

I want to enter my players names, classes and class time. That way I can find out when a player is available for practice. I do not know how to accomplish this. Classes start at 8am and end at 5pm. They are usually in one hour increments. I would love some help on how to enter the data and then use queries to see who is available on a certain day at a certain time. Thanks for any advice.

Create a table with all your players and create a primary key field so they each have a unique number assigned to them. If you don't have a lot of players and are not worried about name repeats you could just use their last names instead of identifying numbers. Then create a table for each day of the week. In these tables have a column for each hour block and a column to hold the players unique numbers (or last name). Then simply enter the name of the students class in the appropriate time block. Though this table design is a bit complex it will make querying the data quite simple.

Example:

SELECT Names FROM Players INNER JOIN Monday ON Players.playerID = Moday.playerID
Where [tenAM] IS NULL

Would give you all kids who are available at 10 am on monday.

I would do it slightly differently, but this may not be appropriate for how you work.

I'd have a table of players and a table of sessions.
The table of players would contain their name, any other details you need, and an autonumber primary key field PlayerID.