Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

TCP-IP over GPRS with Modbus

Status
Not open for further replies.

F_Ionut

Technical User
Feb 17, 2017
RO
Hello.
I am working to a project involving a GSM/GPRS module which role it is to connect clients with some devices over the internet using TCP-IP and Modbus protocol. Now I am studying the TCP connecting scheme.
As far as I understood , the GSM network automatically close a TCP connection if there is not any traffic on it for some time.
I want to detect and maintain TCP connection as reliable as possible. Also to detect half-open connections.
The connection procedure is as follows: my GSM module acts as a server, so it opens a socket on port 502 and wait for clients to read data. The client can read data periodically at 3 minutes or longer.
When a client connects with my module , it requests for some data, the module sends the requested data and wait for other requests, and keeps the connection open. Now if the connection gets broken for other reasons (due to power failures, GSM network etc) the client needs to be able to connect with the module again. The module must detect broken connection and must act so the client can reconnect to it again
In order to detect broken connection the module send periodically some dummy data to the client and check if that data was received by the client. If not, the tcp connection must be re-established.
The question is: how to interpret this "re-establishment" of the connection?
1. Should I close the current TCP connection, and open a new one, meaning listening to port 502 again?