Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

TAXCODES 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

CCARL2

Programmer
Feb 9, 2003
GB
HI ALL, i am still new to pascal and i cannot figure out how to execute the following bit of code properly. i know that the answer is staring me straight in the face but i just cant see it. i can get it to execute but it doesnt work properly. also would there be an easier way of coding it? please help as i have bee on this for hours.

write('NOW ENTER TAXCODE > ');
readln(TaxCode);
if (TaxCode[1]<'0')or(TaxCode[1]>'9')and
(TaxCode[2]<'0')or(TaxCode[2]>'9')and
(TaxCode[3]<'0')or(TaxCode[3]>'9')and
(TaxCode[4]<>'h')or(TaxCode[4]<>'l')
or(TaxCode[4]<>'H')or(TaxCode[4]<>'L')then;

begin
repeat
writeln('INVALID TAXCODE!! PLEASE DO IT AGAIN.> ');
readln(TaxCode);
until(TaxCode[1]>='0')and(TaxCode[1]<='9')
and(TaxCode[2]>='0')and(TaxCode[2]<='9')
and(TaxCode[3]>='0')and(TaxCode[3]<='9')
and(TaxCode[4]='l')or(TaxCode[4]='L')or(TaxCode[4]='h')or(TaxCode[4]='H');
end;

Two problems,
(1) My version of pascal (I tried turbo pascal 6.0, OK, it's old, so this might not apply everywhere) cannot readln an array. You need to read each individual item of the array:

var
q : word;
taxcodes : array[0..4] of word; (or whatever)

begin
for q := 0 to 4 do
begin
readln(taxcodes[q]);
end;
end;

(2) All those ands in your first mega-if need to be ors. You want it to object if any of the tax codes is wrong, not if all of them are wrong.

(3) Combining this, the best thing would be to put the test for invalid tax code in the input loop, so it only needs to test the current value and not worry about the rest of the array:

const
sillycode = 9999;

...later...
for q := 0 to 4 do
begin