Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Taking on a new challenge or getting over your head? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

surferdude949

Programmer
Oct 13, 2008
US
When you are presented with an opportunity (new job) which will be definitely challenging, how can you distinguish if this may be a good thing as it will be challenging or an endeavor that may be too much?

I’m trying to figure this out, being realistic with my abilities/ knowledge/experience and at the same time wanting to push myself in order to grow.

I have about 9 years of experience and really want to reach a high level of technical knowledge and expertise.

My first thought is to "interview" the company to get a feel for their level of technology understanding. I have seen job descriptions that ask for years of experience with a technology or software that has been around for a lesser time. At that point I scratch my head. I also see jobs that want someone who is an expert in everything. The truth is that things change so fast that this is not a real possibility. On the other hand if a company is looking for strong core skills and a fast learner they are most likely going to support your desire to take on a challenge. It is possible to get paid to learn but is also possible to get blamed for the problems of a company. You need to test the waters and ask questions to get a feel for the company's expectations.

If you choose to battle wits with the witless be prepared to lose.

[cheers]

Your success in any challenge depends on how well you manage your resources and tools available. No challenge is big or complex enough; it's the lack of resources and adequate tools that hinders you ability to succeed.