Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Taking FORM details to next form

Status
Not open for further replies.

anthonyevans

Technical User
Mar 12, 2001
GB
Dear All,

I am somewhat new to Access 2000.

Basically I have one form with various details that a user enters. At the end of that form there is a button that takes you to another form. I would like the details of for example, name and date of birth that have been entered to be taken to the new form auomatically. Do I do this with a sub-form ? and if so how ? or is there another way ?

Best Regards,

Anthony

The most common way to pass data from one form to another is the OpenArgs argument of the OpenForm method. In your case, with several values to pass, you'd have to combine them into a single string with some kind of separator between them, pass that string as the OpenArgs argument, and then retrieve the string and break it apart in the target form's Open event.

Another way, which might be easier in this case, is for the invoking form to save the data in global variables. These are variables declared in the Declarations section of a standard module. The target form's Open event would then retrieve the values from the variables and load them into its controls.

Note: With either of these approaches, I'm assuming that the target form is either not bound to a record source, or is only used for data entry (the Data Entry property is set to Yes). If the target form is bound and displays records for editing, moving in data from the invoking form would update the first record displayed, which is probably not something you want to do.