Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Table of Contents and User Defined Text 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

suzreid

Technical User
Sep 26, 2000
GB
A couple of questions
1. I have a master/detail report that will generate over one hundred pages. To make it easier for the user when the report is printed I would like to insert a page at the beginning of the report that contains a table of contents with the page numbers. Is this possible??

2. I have another report (in table format) which is run each month. The first column in this report has a number in it that will not change from month to month. It is not stored in the database anywhere. Each of the other columns have numbers that can be calculated from the database. Is there any way that I can keep this number in the report?

Thanks in advance
Suz

Hello suzreid,

To answer the first question:
You can create a dummy table above the section header by, for instance retrieving sysdate in the query. If you insert table above section header,you clear the cell contents and start adding empty rows below the cell. Go to slice and dice panel and deactivate the section for this table. You'll have a table to start with and all information in the sections below that. If you can assure that every section starts with a new page , you can even create a table this way with linenumber() and the section-object to get the contence of the sections matched to the pagenumbers.
(This will only be one to one if the contents of a section-value does not occupy more than a page)

I must say, the second question is a bit confusing. Are you refering to something like linenumber() ???? T. Blom
Information analyst
tbl@shimano-eu.com