Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

System hung up

Status
Not open for further replies.

bschaly

Technical User
Aug 12, 2008
US
Hello, I have very little experience with computer maintenance, especially Unix but have been charged with maintaining a server running SCO 5.0.5 that stores a legacy database so I begin by apologizing for my ignorance in this area. We have been having issues with tapping into the system through our terminal emulator program. Typically we have the server running but have no user interface hardware connected. Today we tried to log on through the emulator and the connection was never made. I connected a monitor to the server and it displayed the following messages: Open event driver failed. Fatal server error: Check mouse configuration. NOTICE: cha: SCSI bus has been rest ha=0 Attached SCSI peripherals will return to power up state (chaN04) NOTICE: cha: Unexpected SCSI phase ha=0 id=3 lun=0 cmd=12 blk=0 len=36 A SCSI periperal behaved unexpectedly. Use Compaq Diagnostics to confirm a hardware failure (chaN02) %Stp-0 - - - Vendor =HP Product=C1537A

At the end of these messages there was no command prompt and the cursor was rapidly blinking. I reconnected the mouse and keyboard which were not recognized. At some point as I went about researching an explanation (of which getting on this website was a part) the command prompt came back and I was able to shutdown the system I am currently waiting for it to come back up.