Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

System Answer, Auto Attendent and CCR

Status
Not open for further replies.

nolagal985

IS-IT--Management
Nov 27, 2013
US
Hi,
I'm new to the Norstar world and I'm a bit confused on how to make all this work together. I have a Norstar system 7.0 with CP100. I want the phones to ring up to 4 times. At that point, I want the system to answer and put on hold with a message- Please hold your call will be answere or a message saying we're assisting other callers. You get the idea. After say 60 seconds, if no one picks up the line, I want to be able to send it to voicemail automatically where the CCR tree can tell them the office hours, fax #, address etc without them having to press * to leave a message. I've read all the manual and I think I'm making this way more complicated then it needs to be. Anyone want to help me out? Can't seem to figure out what the difference is between the auto attendent/system answer and where the greeting table and ccr tree fit into things. I don't want when people call in for them to talk to an automated system. I hate that and I'm sure customers do too.

Help anyone?

I don't think what you would like to do is even possible.

First of all, System Answer is only available on the Compact ICS. If you have a Modular ICS, you don't have it. The CallPilot doesn't provide that feature.

Second of all, System Answer puts calls on hold at a designated phone (called the attendant set). Once calls are on hold, there is no way for them to get automatically transferred to a CCR Tree (or even to voice mailbox).

In other words, you would have to choose between System Answer and CCR.