Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

synchro replicated db & FrontEnd

Status
Not open for further replies.

rproactive

Technical User
Oct 6, 2005
US
hello everyone-
How does one go about synchronizing replicated databases on a Virtual Private Network (VPN). I have a master/ server computer connected to 3 off site computers with replicated databases. The Db has a front end and a back end.
In similar fashion how do yoiu go about getting a prototype FE to update the active db.

thanks for any suggestions

There were no responses to this “simple” issue so after a great deal of research and connecting the dots I wanted to let the next novice get a head start. First you must realize that the microsoft documenation is not to be trusted it is just plain wrong on some topics. I have spent days going down wrong roads finally finding that the indicated approach would not work in my application or for my version of Access 2003. This is frustating for a beginner since you can never be sure if the problem is your own ignorance or that of microsoft.

As it turns out this is not simply a command from a menu in access. Indirect syncronizaton can NOT be done in Access 2003 at all (there are work arounds). You can do direct synchronizations but these are useless for VPN internet set ups.