Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Symantec antivirus corp. edition 10.2 on Exchange 2007

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yorkshireman2

Programmer
Jan 21, 2005
CA
I am new to this so please make allowances.

Following an IT disaster in September when our primary DC with everything on it died, we now have a single domain controller (Win2k3 64-bit) on which I have installed Exchange 2007. This is not on-line yet; it can send mail out if a client selects the Exchange account, but all incoming mail is being blocked/forwarded by the main router to a temporary external web-mail server from which it comes into our mail clients, which all have internet mail accounts set up.

I then updated the old Symantec managed clients on this server and on all workstations to the new 10.2 unmanaged client. (The old managed clients were tied to our old, dead server which used to be the primary DC, exchange 2k server and Symantec antivirus server, so I couldn't do anything with them)
On the new server, I installed the Symantec antivirus corporate edition 10.2 client-only, because Symantec told me the SAV server software will not work on 64-bit servers!

Before going online and allowing incoming mail I want to know if our exchange server is now being protected by the Symantec antivirus client.

I read about the Exchange 2007 antispam option and found out how to install it, so I did this. However, I really don't know if the Exchange is being protected by the Symantec Antivirus client on this server.

I have now just read a Symantec article
...which states that "Before you begin: Symantec AntiVirus 10.1 and Symantec Client Security 3.1 do not create exclusions for Microsoft Exchange 2007.