Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sybase PowerDesigner 10 vs Oracle Designer 9i

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkotan

MIS
Jul 19, 2004
US

All,

Although I have 5 years experience as an Oracle DBA, I am new to Data Modelling, which my new job requires that I do. We currently use PowerDesigner 8.0 and, since Sybase is ending its life, we need to either upgrade or move to another product.

Since we are an Oracle Partner, we (like most everyone) have free licenses for Designer for Development work.

Sybase, on the other hand, is coming out with version 11 in the August/September 2004 timeframe and will offer an upgrade from 8.0 to 10.0 for $1,200. I could then purchase the Upgrade Subscription plan for another $1,100 to take me to version 11. So, that comes out to about $2,300, and we are a small business, so money counts.

I have data models for our databases and reports for the models in PowerDesigner.
I can buy and learn from a book on Designer pretty easily, as well as learn from Oracle's OLN (Online Learning Network).

We use Oracle Database 9i as well as 9iAS (and will look at certifying our products with 10g later this year). We are also looking at MySQL for some of our smaller products which do not require the power of Oracle so would need to have support for MySQL as well.

What do you folks recommend?

Thanks very much for your assistance!

Jim

Sybase PowerDesigner provides better support for Oracle 8i, 9i, and 10g compared to Oracle's own Designer product. Can you define your Oracle tablespaces as LMTs in Oracle Designer? No, but you can in Sybase PowerDesigner. The list of issues is pretty long.