Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

switching from Photoshop CC to Illustrator CC 2019 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

GracieGrace

Technical User
Mar 11, 2019
US
Good Morning,
This is my first time visiting this forum. I have always worked in photoshop (self taught = limited experience) creating multichannel arts to be used for silkscreening at a print shop. My printer has recently suggested using Illustrator to submit my art, so I purchased it and am in the process of trying to figure it out. is there a simple way to make multichannel images CMKY Color. I mean, I have converted them, but many of the colors I used in photoshop are not recognized in CMKY. I have my colors and placed them in my own color library, I just can't get my newly converted CMKY art to accept those new colors. I guess that is my first problem. Any help will be appreciated! Thank you in advance. GracieGrace

Do you have a small sample file you could attach to demonstrate the problem?

Thank you, SpamJim, for taking the time to help me. I will attach a simple 3 color (3 strikes) book that we had screen printed a couple of years ago. the files I am trying to work with now are 6 or 7 strikes, but this should be enough to give me the idea of what to do. I have not converted it to CMKY just incase that is the wrong thing to do. Thanks again, GracieGrace

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=9599a00a-3139-4efd-b643-8f3386eff605&file=Irish_Blessings_Book.psd