Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Switch Questions (switch newbie) 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhpen

Programmer
Nov 2, 2005
US
We currently have about 70 connections (users, printers, etc.) on a 10-base ethernet using a bunch of hubs (various 8, 12, 16 port) linked together. We are considering switching to switches because of the theoretical increase in network speed, but I am a total switch newbie and am not sure what to get.

"layers", "stackable", "uplinks", "managed", "un-managed"

These are all things I am unfamiliar with. I've done some reading on them, but am not sure how they might apply to our situation. Here go my newbie questions.

0. I can simply replace our hubs with switches, right? I don't need to change our cabling or anything?

1. Can I just get 4 24-port un-managed 10/100 switches (for instance, d-link des-1024d), replace our hubs with them, link them together with crossover cables and be done with it? Will that give us a decent speed increase for the money (they are only about $75 each)?

2. What does "stackable" mean? I gather it does not refer to whether you can physically stack them (I assume I can physically stack "rack-mountable switches without problem)?

3. Would it be really worth it (speed-wise) to get anything more than simple, un-managed switches or would that be more like just adding bells and whistles?

4. What would you recommend?

Thank You

Stackable means you can gang them together into one virtual switch. Usually that involves a special cable that plugs the two switches together, then you don't need the crossover cable.