Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SUN OPENSOLARIS AND CISCO

Status
Not open for further replies.

maczen

Instructor
Apr 12, 2008
US
I have installed VirtualBox and OpenSolaris on my laptop and am going to run FreeRadius! The laptop is my testbed as I am somewhat new to Solaris.. First I want everyone to know that VirtualBox is awesome! I like it much better than VMWare as everything installed and ran much more efficiently (But both VirtualBox and Solaris are Sun products and I haven't tested anything else in it yet).. Regardless I would definitely recommend playing with this if you haven't already! I have run Fink on my Mac for many years as well as VMWare on various systems and this is the absolute easiest and overall coolest product I have come across! I am getting hooked on Sun a little here! By the way I am not knocking, or even comparing these products really.. Just loved the way this installed and worked right out of the box.. Even the wireless worked for my Dell XPS M1530 ... Google M1530 wireless Linux and look at what you get!!! Then add VMPlayer in your search!!!

Enjoy!

B Haines
CCNA R&S, ETA FOI

Forgot the point of my post! Does anyone have any advice/recommendations here as I am new to Solaris and FreeRadius.. Links would be greatly appreciated!!!

B Haines
CCNA R&S, ETA FOI

Get Veritas for Solaris 9 or 10. A lot of people use it, but Sun won't support it. If not Veritas, then of course use the built-in Disk Suite (meta-add, meta this, meta that, etc.). Build some RAID configs. Also, learn what a concatenation is, and how it differs from RAID1. That's a Sun thing.