Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suggestions for training in WSH and VBScript

Status
Not open for further replies.

rnpIII

Technical User
May 2, 2001
US
Hello All,

I have been writing non- administrative, non- HTML or ASP scripts for about a year now.
I know I am lacking in some very basic knowledge that would assist in finishing these scripts quicker and more efficiently.
I have looked on the internet for training and all I really see is stuff for Windows 2000 system admins.
I am an IT tech, the programmer for the team (that's not saying much) and don't need any admin stuff or really any HTML stuff.
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can read or take in the way of classes?
I write stuff in vbscript to automate many of our processes from FTPing files to reformatting them into Excel and Word docs from other types of files, to pulling info from the AS/400.

Any educated suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

rnpIII
CoServ IT

You seem to be contradicting yourself. You say you don't need admin stuff but all that you describe is just that.

There are a number of good books out there on vbscript. I recommend the MSPRESS book by Ed Wilson. Ed wrote the book and created the vbscript workshop that Microsoft offers to Premier Customers for a fee.

If you have a Premier Contract with Microsoft, then you can speak to your TAM (Technical Account Manager) to get you signed up for the workshop which would go over most everything you need.

I hope you find this post helpful.

Regards,

Mark

Check out my scripting solutions at