Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suggestions for purchasing used POS terminals 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roaky

IS-IT--Management
Sep 11, 2012
US
I have a client looking to get some POS terminals and peripherals for their restaurant. I have some experience working with Radiant and Micros terminals, but I know with this small restaurants' restricted budget will make these systems out of their price range. Would anyone suggest a good brand, or model, or supplier for purchasing used POS terminals? Essentially I'm looking for something basic and reliable, and compatible with some receipt printers, card readers, and cash drawers (Is it possible to go mostly USB for peripherals? I would like to avoid the labor associated with custom serial pin-outs).

I am very experienced with laptop and desktop refurbishing and repair, as this is the majority of my work, so I am not daunted by having to troubleshoot problems with used equipment, as long as i can find a generally reliable brand/model and supplier to avoid fully DOA systems.

Looking around online some of the brands that seem reasonably priced are: Partner Tech, Elo, Posiflex. Would any of these work? Would I be better off going with a regular PC plugged into a waterproof touchscreen monitor?

I know there are quite a few questions here, but any small insights are helpful.
Thanks in advance.

Roaky,