Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Suggestion needed for designing application in JAVA

Status
Not open for further replies.

scripter73

Programmer
Apr 18, 2001
US
I'd like to have a webpage that lets a user click on a link (associated with a text doc) and open a text doc in an app like Acrobat Reader. Is it a wise step to design it with Java? I realize I may need an OCR, but is this achievable? Can Java open other applications? Do I need JavaBeans, Swing? What else would I need to do (besides design the Java program) to accomplish my goal? I'm really new to Java (I'm up to encapsulation).

Many thanks for your help.
Change Your Thinking, Change Your Life.

What you are asking is a vague question. Opening a document in a browser is a client side function--java, at least server side java, is of no use here. You mention a text document but you want it viewed as PDF. Why? A browser can open a text document just as easily as an HTML page. You could have your server convert the text document to PDF and send the PDF doc back in the request but why would you do this. Why not preconvert all of your text documents to PDF beforehand.

It sounds like either you aren't sure what you are really trying to do or you may be a little confused about HTTP and web programming. Maybe if you clarify the GOAL and REQUIREMENTS of what you are trying to do it will make helping you easier.

Cheers

I think what he is getting at is he wants the text doc to open in a frame based app LIKE when you open a PDF. I agree with meadandale though. This seems irrelevant since browsers can already open text docs.

Guys,

I didn't want to get to wordy, but here's exactly what I'm looking to do:

Description: