Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Subnetting and BGP

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkoehn

ISP
May 24, 2001
US
I am new to BGP. We have a Cisco 7206 and have a /22 network.

I want to be able to have the first 256 IP's subnetted out. The second 256 IP's subnetted out to customers with the last 512 IP's will be assigned to one interface for our wireless network.

I have sperated out the /22 into 2 /23's. I have added these statements to my router's BGP section:

network 65.116.60.0 mask 255.255.254.0
network 65.116.62.0 mask 255.255.254.0

When I try to assign the first 32 ip's to FastEthernet0/0 It seems to quit routing on the 65.116.60.0 network. Do I need to add something to the ROUTER BGP section to split this /23 up even more?

How much different is BGP routing compared to Static Routing. Any one have any knowledge bases to direct me to to learn on this?

Normally BPG is used on an ISP type of connection or a very large network. It's also pretty dangerous in the sense that you can break someone elses routes fairly easily without the correct knowledge.

Apples and Orange might describe the differences between static routes and BGP. A routing protocol like BGP (or others) has all kinds of interactions whereas static is just that.. static.

I'm not clear on just what you want to accomplish..

You have a class A network range of 65 something and you have a /22 or a class mask of 255.255.252.0.. roughly 16K subnets of 1K hosts per network. Now you say to want to take the one of the 16K network range of 65.116.60.0 and apply a VLSM to it of /23? VLSM works but it's tricky if you do not know your subnetting well.