Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Subnetting a network ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrdom

MIS
Oct 5, 2005
US
Hi everyone:

I'm an assistant network administrator for our parish church and school. We're looking to fine-tune our network in the coming weeks, and I'm hoping to seek some guidance from forum members as my knowledge on subnetting is rusty at best.

Here's the current setup:

1. All devices on the network (parish and school) can see each other, and have addresses in the 172.20.x.x range, with a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0

2. The school is interested in obtaining its own file server (curently, there isn't one). We will most likely obtain Windows 2000 server, because we can get a good deal on the software with the number of client licenses we need.

3. The parish already has its own server - a server running Windows 2003 with AD. I have great fear and trepidation about adding a 2k server into the picture, as this may create huge problems. But maybe not?

4. I thought about the possibility of subnetting the school's network away from the parish's. We would be on one subnet, and the parish would be on another subnet. The parish does not access anything school-related, and the school does not access anything parish-related, so that would not be a problem. Could this work, and if so, what subnet mask could I use to accomplish this?

5. We have a T1 Internet connection, and the router address is 172.20.0.1/255.255.0.0 Would it be possible to still route internet requests from school computers if we were to change to a different subnet?