Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Studying is so hard, learning is even harder. 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

barbola

Technical User
Feb 27, 2003
CA
I am studying, taking courses in software development. Right now it's VB 6.0 and I'm on the last course with a 6month project to complete afterward. Then I'd to get MS certification.

I'm a single mom (half-time custody), work full time, compete in a sport that takes up alot of my time, plus the kids have something on just about every night. I'm 40 years old, have a good job (systems admin, report writing, training staff, accounting stuff, database development mostly simple stuff for end users). I have a business admin diploma.

I tried University but just couldn't absorb the material and never had good study habits, although I graduated highschool with an A average, I never really had to study and I got by.

Now that I'm back to the books I look at alot of my younger friends in their 20's going to university like it's a breeze and they're getting 4.0's and continuing on to MBA's like it's nothing, just another part of life like high school.

Why am I finding it so difficult to learn this stuff? I read the material, follow the examples, do some research online, but it just doesn't sink in. I am getting A's, but I really don't feel like I'm learning anything. I'm getting by by copying examples of what others have already done but it means nothing to me, the code I mean.