Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Struts Database Connectivity - Static Action Mapping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike1948

Programmer
Dec 24, 2006
GB
Dear Sirs, I am new to struts and have hit a road block concerning action mappings. From everything that I have read the action class gets called in the event of a form being submitted for example. However, I do not want any form to be processed, just when the jsp page is accessed the action class is called.

Hi current am using a struts datasource and a data access object. When a jsp page is accessed I want to be able to store the rows of the database in an array and iterate them back out to the jsp page. The Action class can be found below

package com.myapp.struts;
import javax.servlet.http.*;
import org.apache.struts.action.*;
import java.sql.*;
import java.util.ArrayList;
import javax.sql.*;
public class DataSourceConnectionAction extends Action {
private DataSource dataSource;
public ArrayList court1List = new ArrayList();
private final static String SUCCESS = "success";
public ActionForward execute(ActionMapping mapping,
ActionForm form, HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response)
throws Exception {
HttpSession session = request.getSession();
/** Here the method that connects to the datasource is called: */
dataSource = (DataSource)servlet.getServletContext().getAttribute("SportsHall");
Connection conn = dataSource.getConnection();
UserDAO dao = DAOFactory.createUserDAO(conn);
court1List = dao.getCourt1();
/** Here we put the court1List in scope, so that we can use it in the JSP page: */
if(court1List != null){
request.setAttribute("SportsHall", court1List);
} return (mapping.findForward(SUCCESS));
}