Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Stripping two characters from the end of a string 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve-vfp9user

Programmer
Feb 5, 2013
GB
I'm fairly new to this guys but getting there.

The below code inserts some data into a table part of which is a date which when viewed looks like: 06/06/2013--

If I reduce the amount of characters in phpmyadmin I get 06/06/20--

What I would like to do is remove the -- before the information is inserted into the table.

My code looks like this:

Code:
$sql = "INSERT INTO ".$TABLES["MYREVIEWS"]."
SET mydate_id='".$isLogged."',
[b]date_review='".$_REQUEST["date_review"]."',
[/b]reviewer='".$_REQUEST["reviewer"]."',
prod_itemitem='".$_REQUEST["prod_item"]."',
descrip='".$_REQUEST["descrip"]."'";

I have found the command RTRIM at [link ][/url] but I'm not sure of the concept of this coding.

Can someone please advise where I would add this code to mine so the -- are removed?

Many thanks

Steve

first off, make sure that the table column is defined as a DATE field and not as a varchar. then the database will not truncate the input.

second, for mysql and other conformed databases, you have to provide the data in a standardised format. the easiest is yyyy-mm-dd as it is conformed across international boundaries. you can do it mm-dd-yyyy but that makes no sense at all for British people as we all know that the day comes before the month ...

but on to your question: