Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

String to date sorting array 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dashley

Programmer
Dec 5, 2002
US
Hi, I'm a VB dev and this is my 1st day developing with PHP.

I've retrieved a list of files from a directory and stripped off the ".: and the file extensions
and also the 1st 3 letters of the file name itself since they are always constant (ex. "bbn10052005.htm").
What I'm left with is a string "10052015" to which I've added two slashes in it so it looks like a date :).
"10/05/2015". After loading it into an array and attempted to sort which didn't work.

I'm guessing I should convert into a date and then sort? Not sure about the correct way to convert or if i'm going in the right direction.

Ultimately I will stack the dates up in descending order. Right now I'm getting this

01/08/2015
01/22/2015
01/23/2014
02/04/2013
02/05/2015
02/06/2014
02/19/2015
02/21/2013
03/05/2015
03/07/2013
03/13/2014

Any Ideas , thoughts or samples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

To sort these text strings without officially translating to a date format, you'd need to parse them as YYYYMMDD or a flavor of YYYY/MM/DD.

Hi

If not needed to do anything else with them as with dates, no need to explicitly convert. [tt]usort()[/tt] and a custom comparator will do it ( supposing the list is in variable $list ) :
PHP: