Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

String manipulation 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

plarocque

MIS
Jul 2, 2003
CA
I'm quite new with vbscript and the simplest thing is difficult right now. If anyone can give ma a clue, here is my problem. I try to isolate a filename from a full path. ex: c:\folder1\folder2\folder3\filename.txt, I have this path in a variable, I need to isolate the filename.txt to eventualy join it to another path. Of course, at that point I don't know the length of that variable, neither the exact filename, would be too easy. Can somebody show me how? Thanks in advance.

You want to use the GetFileName method of the file system object:

Code:
dim fso
set fso = CreateObject( "Scripting.FileSystemObject" )

dim sFullName, sJustName, sJustPath
sFullName = "c:\folder1\folder2\folder3\filename.txt"
sJustPath = fso.GetParentFolderName( sFullName )
sJustName = fso.GetFileName( sFullName )

' sJustPath -> "c:\folder1\folder2\folder3"
' sJustName -> "filename.txt"

For manipulating file names, the methods of the file system object are the best things to use, but since you asked about string manipulation in general, the routines you want to look at are: Len, InStr, InStrRev, Left, Right, Mid, etc.

Len returns the length of a string, InStr returns the position of a character in a string, and InStrRev returns the position of a character starting from the end of the string. Left, Right and Mid are routines to extract a substring from a string. Look these functions up in the VBScript help file and you will find links to more.

To get just the filename using these functions, you would do something like this:

Code:
dim sFullName, sJustName
dim iSlash