Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Strange Events: Via P4xb-sa MB, 400W PS - what's destroying my HDs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

markoff

IS-IT--Management
Aug 24, 2002
US
This is an interesting scenario for any and all techs looking for something utterly new. I'm a tech these last 8 years and I'm stumped.
The system:
Via P4XB-SA motherboard
400W power supply

I was trying to fix a problem with the machine rebooting ... everytime it was shut down it blue screened..... the stop error message was very similar to one associated with an EZCD Creator issue so I tried uninstalling EZCD creator and voilla, no more blue screen. Hooray.... now all I needed to do is put back the peripherals that were installed before I began my investigation ..... like the soundcard and network card..and swap the video card (client preference).

The video card that was currently in the machine was a Matrox and it worked fine. I stupidly decided to make all of the changes at once without checking the bios and I'm sure nobody will be surprised to hear it didn't boot .... it didn't even get far enough into the post to recognize the hard drives. It froze up immediately after checking the system RAM. There was one short beep early on (before the monitor had come up with a diplay) but no other audio indicators. The changes I'd made were:

- Swapped the Matrox display adapter for an ATI card that had worked in that machine previously.
- Put the NIC back into machine (again it'd worked there before).
- Put the Creative Labs Soundblaster Live card back (it'd also been working on that machine before).