Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

STP - Forwarding and Blocking Modes 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

skk391

Technical User
Mar 3, 2009
GB
Hello Guys

Im just studying to my ICDN2 exam and have come across STP. Im a little confused. I throught that STP elects a root bridge through an election and then STP puts ports into forwarding and blocking mode. The root bridge will have all trunk ports into forwarding mode all the time to help speed up convergence in the case of a trunk/port going bad. Therefore all other switches on the network should have 1 trunk in forwarding mode and then all other trunks in blocking mode, shouldnt it? so that no switching loops are formed, but when I carry out the following command on my production network I get the following result....

#show spanning-tree vlan 1

VLAN0001
Spanning tree enabled protocol ieee
Root ID Priority 32768
Address 0003.e3e6.fb40
Cost 23
Port 21 (FastEthernet0/21)
Hello Time 2 sec Max Age 20 sec Forward Delay 15 sec

Bridge ID Priority 32769 (priority 32768 sys-id-ext 1)
Address 000f.24d9.f2c0
Hello Time 2 sec Max Age 20 sec Forward Delay 15 sec
Aging Time 15

Interface Role Sts Cost Prio.Nbr Type
---------------- ---- --- --------- -------- --------------------------------
Fa0/3 Desg FWD 19 128.3 P2p
Fa0/5 Desg FWD 19 128.5 P2p
Fa0/11 Desg FWD 19 128.11 P2p
Fa0/13 Desg FWD 19 128.13 P2p
Fa0/16 Desg FWD 19 128.16 P2p
Fa0/21 Root FWD 19 128.21 P2p
Fa0/22 Desg FWD 19 128.22 P2p

Maybe I got myself a little confused on the matter, but this switch according to the output is not the root switch, so therefore shouldnt only one of the above interfaces be in forwarding mode and the rest in blocking???

Many Thanks in Advance