Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Storing images in a VFP

Status
Not open for further replies.

foxprogram

Programmer
Aug 31, 2004
HU
My question is :How can I store images which are now part of the compiled executable (marked as Included) ?
Should I put them into a .dll, or sg like this ?

Sorry but I have no VFP book, and I am just a beginner! :)

Can you explain what you want to do?

If you have images compiled into an executable, aren't they already stored? How many images?

Best policy is the leave the images outside of the executable and point to them, rather than storing them either in a table or an executable.

Mike Gagnon

If you want to get the best response to a question, please check out FAQ184-2483 first.
ReFox XI (www.mcrgsoftware.com)

Every images linked into the executable now.
And the result is that the .EXE file is a fat two and a half megabytes :(

I should use only few hundred kilobytes executable file plus a large DLL or sg like that.

I should use only few hundred kilobytes executable file plus a large DLL or sg like that.

I repeat my suggestion:
myself said:
Best policy is the leave the images outside of the executable and point to them, rather than storing them either in a table or an executable.

I am not sure how you would store an image in a DLL, binary information perhaps?
What is an 'sg'?

Mike Gagnon

If you want to get the best response to a question, please check out FAQ184-2483 first.

In Clipper 5.3 (grrr) there was a file with extension .BML, and it used to store images, text etc. in one file.
(The name of this file was egal to the executable)