Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Stored Procedure Vs App

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 20, 2005
US
I have two questions. First, Im basically new to stored procedures having only had experience with informix 8 years ago and dont remember much.

Im using php web app and mysql5

First question.
In a database, I will need to make an update that will be updating 4 or possibly 5 tables base on an update of the one table. The update may be a deletion of a row and not a update command. I am assuming this would be better done in a stored procedure. True or not?

If true, second question,
How do I do an if statement in stored procedures and/or any links/faq's available on mysql stored procedures?

1. No (well yes a bit)
I don't like stored procedures where logic is put in them for a variety of reasons the largest being you are stealing processer timee from the database server to do work that would be better of on an app server (e.g. a cluster of web servers). Database servers are very difficult to scale without using clustering technoliges which bring a whole world of pain on it's own !
As you add more and more procedures (and it's in an attractive thing to do) the db server works harder and harder until it needs an upgrade, usually an expensive new box rather than a new chepa web server.