Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Stored Procedure to Select AND Return a Value?

Status
Not open for further replies.

peggasus88

Technical User
Feb 25, 2002
US
Hi,

Newbie here. :) Can someone please show me how to SELECT a value and RETURN that value in the same stored procedure?

My stored procedure:
Alter PROCEDURE spGetQuarter_byDate
@Date datetime,
@Quarter varchar(20) Output
AS
Set @Quarter = (SELECT Quarter FROM Quarters WHERE @Date BETWEEN StartDate AND EndDate)
RETURN @Quarter

I'm getting the following error:
Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80040e07'

[Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Syntax error converting the varchar value '2002 Q2' to a column of data type int.

I have no idea where the 'data type int' is coming from since I have no ints in my table!

Please help. I don't want to be thinking about this when I'm watching Star Wars! ;)

~*Peggy*~

'Return' in an SP can only return an integer.
So it is trying to convert @quarter from a varchar to an int and failing.

But you do not need to 'return' it. Since @quarter is already set up in your SP as an output parameter, the SP will pass the @quarter value back to the calling software. (Note that when your client program calls the SP, it must do it in a way to receive that output parm back from the SP.)

rgrds, etc
bperry

P.S.
So in your SP, just have
'RETURN',
not 'RETURN @quarter'
bperry

Hi 'bperry',