Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Step by step instruction to mount remote filesystem (nfs)

Status
Not open for further replies.

uncletom

Technical User
Nov 21, 2002
DE
Hi,
I need step by step instruction (absolute beginner) to mount a remote linux filesystem from an OpenVMS 6.2 Alpha using UCX. So what have I to do to mount a local OpenVMS-folder called test with a remote linux-folder called /home/usr/backup on mentioned linux machine called linux_ws ???
thnx.

You mount network drives, not folders under VMS, but it has the same outcome...

First, verify the host is known either locally or resolvable from DNS on the VMS system. If not, add it to the UCX hosts locally.

The following moutn command should work - if not, try using UCX HELP MOUNT for further info:

$ucx mount $1$dnfs1: test disk$test -
/host="linux_ws"/path="/home/usr/backup"/system

This mounts a network disk drive ($1$DNFS1 in this case, but adjust the allocation class to whatever you are using). The disk is labelled "test", and can also be referred to as disk$test. The device is mounted to the system account, so should be accessible across the system.

You should check if there are any other DNFS devices first, and increment the number if there is...

If this is to be a persistent device, don't forget to add it to you disk mounting procedures for the system startup or the device will disappear when you next reboot.

Hope this helps!!

Hugh.
[pipe]

Hi Hugh,
thanks or help.
I have difficulties to understand the meaning of

"$ucx mount $1$dnfs1: test disk$test"

and, what is more important, how to create such device.
What is the command to check if there are any other DNFS devices ?