Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

starts - reboots-starts...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Extras

Technical User
Nov 16, 2001
US
Hello

The history behind this problem is that over the weekend I started getting a systemd error when I would boot up my W2k Professional machine. I would get the following message:

Windows 2000 could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEMd startup options for Windows 2000, press F8

Well, I was stuck because I do not have an Emergency Repair Disk for this computer... so I posted a question on the microsoft newsgroups. Dave Patrick there helped me through quite a bit as I am a total novice when it comes to inner workings of Windows and DOS. After trying out a bunch of things the last thing I ended up doing was his suggestion of:

One of the suggestions was:
Failing all of this try;
(note: the files in \repair are the original as-installed copies of the
registry)
del C:\windows\system32\config\system
copy C:\windows\repair\system C:\windows\system32\config
restart for effect

Now when windows starts up..and I see the W2K graphic against the white background..and the progress bar is completed - I see a momenatry screen of some DOS-like commands (just a flash) and then the computer reboots itself...and then it goes into a cycle of this closing and rebooting...

I am looking at your suggestion above should the copy line actually be:
copy C:\windows\repair\system C:\windows\system32\config\system