Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Starting out in Converting websites to Mobile Phone use.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BadChough

Programmer
Dec 20, 2007
GB
As an amateur, I have set up a few small websites over the years, with the use of a now out-dated Dreamweaver 2004MX and some PHP/MYSQL. It would be great to make one or two of the sites "mobile-friendly", and am seeking advice on how to tackle this. In the past I have found text-books on PHP, HTML etc. to be helpful. Are there any books on converting sites to mobile-use which you could recommend? Or perhaps there are particularly clear and helpful websites that you know of that might help.

mobile use" meaning??

Because I don't know of a mobile operating systems that supports running PHP on it.

Chris.

Indifference will be the downfall of mankind, but who cares?
Time flies like an arrow, however, fruit flies like a banana.
Webmaster Forum

Thanks for the question ChrisHirst.
What I mean is sorting out websites that operate ok on a desktop browser, but either don't fully operate, or are awkward to read and navigate on a an iphone or other mobile phone.
and example of mine is where the php that I have used still does the job when viewed on my iphone, but the layout is not really appropriate for that media.
Does that make sense?

There are two ways to approach this problem:

1. Browser detection
2. Responsive design