Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Starplus STSe Hard Drive Based VM - Need Install Assistance 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

kentarver

Technical User
Mar 15, 2004
US
Hello Guys,

I am installing a HD Based VM on my Daughter's Business' Vodavi STSe Phone System. We have the Card installed but I haven't been able to figure out what all needs to happen to initialize the VM and program the CO's to use Auto Attendant.

Going through the manuals just makes my old head hurt.

I have been a Northern Telecom Sl1 Tech for years where programming is Terminal Based and a snap to Administer. Not so for this Vodavi system. Even you have the Background and Training for other Phone Systems it has been next to impossible to find all of the info in one place . The Manuals seem to be written with the understanding that you ALREADY KNOW what they are telling you. It took me an hour to find out what a lot of their Acronyms were referring to. I KNOW I can do it given enough time . I am just not sure I will live that long.

I also have seen references to starting Wizards I haven't been able to locate ! Are these just for the ECOM Users ? ( I don't have this software !) .

My Daughter's Business is a startup and She inherited this Phone System with her Building. I don't feel like I am stopping some Phone Tech from eating. This is Family and I want my Daughter to continue thinking I am the most intelligent Father in the World !

Thanks for any help you can provide an old man.

Ken Tarver ( A 2 bps Tech in a 43 Tbps World )

Like many products, there are a couple of steps to implement: