Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

StandAlone Applications

Status
Not open for further replies.

khoshtip

Technical User
Aug 27, 2005
US
Ive just installed Java v1 from a book (whats the current version?) and created a basic applet and standalone application.

The problem with the standalone application

System.out.println("My first stand alone application is a success.");

is that the output is shown in a dos box for about half a second and then the dos box closes. Any comments on how to prevent this?

Also Im using windows xp -- how do I access MSDos from this operating system?

(I used to be a programmer many yrs ago.Am a refugee and am attempting to retrain so I can get a decent job when I find a country to relocate to)

thanks.

How do you start your application?
Start it from the commandline (Start/Run/ "cmd /x"). (Is this your second question?)

How to prevent the box from disappearing depends on your way to start it.

seeking a job as java-programmer in Berlin:

khoshtip, the current version of Java is 1.5

If you open a command window in XP using the 'cmd' command (use the Start->Run facility), then if you run your program from here your output will remain visible. Just make sure you are in the correct directory before you run your program.

Tim
---------------------------
"Your morbid fear of losing,
destroys the lives you're using." - Ozzy

1.5 is in beta, and has a lot features that most end-user JVMs may not support yet. I'd suggest 1.4.2, because it's been out for a long time now, and most machines have JVM that can run it.

[plug=shameless]
[/plug]