Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SSIS And IIS Logs

Status
Not open for further replies.

TamedTech

IS-IT--Management
May 3, 2005
GB
Hello Guys & Girls,

You'll have to excuse me on this one as i'm not muh of an SQL guy, my background is in ColdFusion development, so whilst i have a reasonable understanding of basic query language, i'm a little lost as to where i should start with task.

Basicly I have an application in mind for working with IIS Server logs, which as you may know come in a space delimited file, and can grow to be reasonably large. It's been reccomended to me by serveral people that the most efficient way to import such a large amount of data is using a SSIS, however i have NO SSIS experience what so ever, and dont even know where to begin, so thought i'd come here for a little assistance.

Now, the log file can consist of several thousand lines, each containing 20 delimited pieces of information that need to be placed into the database.

The document also includes comment lines started with a pound sign, somthing like this.

# This is a comment.

Which need to be ignored as they are redundant data. So as an example the file looks somthing like this.

Code:
#Software: Microsoft Internet Information Services 6.0
#Version: 1.0
#Date: 2007-02-16 04:04:41
#Fields: date time s-sitename s-computername s-ip cs-method cs-uri-stem cs-uri-query s-port cs-username c-ip cs-version cs(User-Agent) cs(Cookie) cs(Referer) cs-host sc-status sc-substatus sc-win32-status sc-bytes cs-bytes time-taken