Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Squirrel POS sales update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alacarte

Technical User
Aug 23, 2003
US
I forgot to run "end of period" for gross sales and net sales when the fiscal year ended. Now when I try to update gross and net sales I get a message that says "fiscal period exceeded, run end of period, and change period date." If I do that, will I lose the sales data compiled since this fiscal year actually began? I am telling the system to "update anyway" so I have more than one year of sales data running. Thanks for any help.

I am no expert but, I had to do this 2 weeks into this year. Labor was messed up, that is what let me know.
1) save current config and day
2) restore last day of last fiscal period. ie 12/28
3) run end of period routines
4) start updating with the first day of the next fiscal period. ie 12/29 this will take a while since it is now Aug.
I hope this helps...
Anabrew

Backup your gross sales/net sales within housekeeping.
Print any reports that you need for the previous fiscal year.

Run the fiscal end of period and clear all your totals.

go into setup for gross sales/net sales and set the fiscal start date for the beginning of your year. BUT -- the date that you specify will be the DAY that your weeks start on. So, if you dated it for 08/01/2003, which is a friday, your weeks would run Friday to Thursday.
So, even though my fiscal start date is 08/01/2003, I would backdate this to 07/28/2003, which is a monday to make my weeks run correctly -- monday to sunday.