Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Stored Procedures and Sequencing of Events...

Status
Not open for further replies.

cerebalbore

Technical User
Mar 17, 2008
GB
Hi all,

I need a bit of help understanding SQL server 2005 and custom stored procedures. I’m by no means an expert at using SQL, I can do quite a bit of querying and manipulation, but this has me stumped because the terms I use to describe the potential issue aren’t right (or they mean something different). I want to use a stored procedure to replace a query because so should be much faster than the common table expression I’m using at the moment (I have a Cartesian join - on purpose), and less aggro to update, but I would need to use temporary tables (#temp) to gain a massive time advantage.

I have 3 basic steps to my new query:
1 – if it exists, drop #temp1 and #temp2
2 – create #temp1 and #temp2
3 – query temp tables

This would be called by multiple instances of my application, so what would happen if person A starts the query, followed by person B like in this time flow:
1 – person A – if it exists, drop #temp1 and #temp2
2 – person A – create #temp1 and #temp2 (parameter A)
3 – person B – if it exists, drop #temp1 and #temp2
4 – person B – create #temp1 and #temp2 (parameter B)
5 – person A – query temp tables
6 – person B – query temp tables

At step three above, person A's temp tables are destroyed and person B's tables are created instead, so when step 5 happens they might get the results from person B's query...

My question is this “Does a stored procedure complete before it is called again, or can it be called in parallel”?