Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL select from....using variable question 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

h3lm3t

Technical User
May 27, 2003
GB
Hi ther thanx for looking, i need help with a SQL syntax question. I'm not very good with SQL and have never used in within VBA.

I have 2 list boxes that provide the criteria for the SQL
They work correctly and return the correct values, they are both string data types:

manufactName as string
categoryName as string

' set values of both

manufactName = Me.lstManufacturer.Value
categoryName = Me.lstStockCat.Value

'my sql statement

DoCmd.RunSQL "SELECT tblStock.[fkManufacturer ID], tblStock.[fkStockCategory ID], tblStock.[Stock ID], tblStock.[Stock Description], tblStock.[Stock Boundary Level], tblStock.[Stock Level] FROM tblStock WHERE (((tblStock.[fkManufacturer ID])= manufactName ) AND ((tblStock.[fkStockCategory ID])= categoryName));"

ERROR 2343, statement requires an SQL statement

Any help is appreciated, thanx very much in advance.

Hi, VBA doesn't know that the variables you've defined are inside the " " of your SQL statement so I think you want it to look like this:

DoCmd.RunSQL "SELECT tblStock.[fkManufacturer ID], tblStock.[fkStockCategory ID], tblStock.[Stock ID], tblStock.[Stock Description], tblStock.[Stock Boundary Level], tblStock.[Stock Level] FROM tblStock WHERE (((tblStock.[fkManufacturer ID])= " & manufactName & " ) AND ((tblStock.[fkStockCategory ID])= " & categoryName & "));"

Hi h3lm3t,