Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Remote Connection and upload

Status
Not open for further replies.

Appok

Technical User
May 3, 2012
CA
Hi all

I have been creating a VB script that does a computer inventory and uploads it to a SQL Database called Inventory and the Table is called inventory. I;m using a free version of SQL 2012 and i setup a account which i can use to log into the database and pull data off the server and display it on my Personal Microsoft excel document.

But i'd like to set it up for me to run my script from my Personal PC and upload the info to its Table

my server name is ADAM-SERVER\SQLEXPRESS and created a password and login

I'm very new to SQL and im learning as i go

mConnection.Open = "Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Integrated Security=SSPI;Persist Security Info=True;Initial Catalog=Inventory;Data Source=ADAM-SERVER\SQLEXPRESS; UID=Adam; PWD=qazw"

this is my connection string, i dont know if its the right way for settingup a SQL Login Connection

You'll need to make sure your database engine is set up for SQL Authentication. Open SQL Server Management Studio, Right click on the server node. Click Properties. Click Security. Make sure it says "SQL Server and Windows Authentication"

Next, make sure you have a login to the database. Right click Security, click new login, give it a login name. Set authentication to "SQL Server authentication". Type a password, and uncheck "Enforce Password Policy".

Next, make sure the login has access to the Inventory database. Expand your database, right click security, click add new user. Type the username and login. You should set the default database to "Master". Click Membership and select db_owner.