Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SQL Log File (LDF)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nvhusker

IS-IT--Management
Feb 7, 2006
US
Hey all, I am not a programmer but I thought I might get some advice in here about our SQL 2000 database and the log file. First off, let me apologize if I am in the wrong forum.

Okay, we currently have a SQL database that is about 66 gigs in size. This is our MDF file. If we run a shrink on our database log file, we can get it down to about 760 mb. Here is the problem/question that I have. We will run the shrink on let's say day 1, when we come back on day 2, the LDF file can be as large as 13 gigs. 760 mb to 13 gigs in one day! What is going on? Where can I get the information about what is all going on with our database to make the log file that large so rapidly?

The problem is that we are trying to use a software called Legato Replistor to replicate our DB and numerous other servers over to our disaster recovery site. When our log file changes this much in such a short time, our pipe (T-1) can't seem to keep up with it and it never gets back to a replicated status. There is no doubt we need a larger pipe, like a T3.

But, how can I find out why one particular entry into the database can cause multiple entries in the log file. For example, if someone changes a person's SSN from our software application, will it update the database and how many possible entries could that add to the log file? Thanks in advance for any response.

How many possible entries would depend onthe database structure and if there are any triggers onthe table being entered into.